Point of View

Summer Shorts Festival presents its Award-Winning Pairs
June 8, 2009, 10:46 pm
Filed under: City Theater

Miami-Dade County contest winners of the Summer Shorts Festival’s first annual Create-A-Short Contest were recognized this past Saturday, June 6, at the Adrienne Arsht Center’s Carnival Studio Theater in the Ziff Ballet Opera House. Miami-Dade and Broward County students grades K through 8 were given the opportunity to win a variety of prizes by designing a pair of paper shorts for the fun summer festival. Talented students throughout Miami and Broward submitted drawn-in, colored, adorned, painted, glued, glittered, and penciled entries but only a dozen from both counties were ultimately chosen as winners.

Before Saturday matinee performance of Shorts 4 Kids!, the Summer Shorts Festival’s family-friendly installment of a series of hilarious short plays, the Miami-Dade County contest winners were presented on-stage with a Create-A-Short Award and prizes ranging from Summer Shorts Festival tickets, gift cards to Borders, and day passes to the Miami Children’s Museum. Presenting to the proud winners was celebrated philanthropist and developer, Jorge Perez, City Theatre Co-Founder and Executive Director Stephanie Norman, and City Theatre Artistic Director Stuart Meitzer.

Jorge Perez (CEO, Related Group) and the winners; photo by Mitchell Zachs

Jorge Perez (CEO, Related Group) and the winners; photo by Mitchell Zachs

“We really wanted to do something to involve the children in their own creative process,” says Norman.

The works of these young artists is being prominently displayed as an art installation along the Center’s Carnival Studio Theater’s Biscayne Boulevard windows. One of the first place winners, 7th grader Kinsley Rants of Grace Christian Academy, created a pair of shorts inspired by Vincent van Gogh’s famous painting “Starry Night.”

Miami-Dade County winners include First Place: 3rd grader Nicole Cinquino of Dante B. Fascell Elementary and 7th grader Kinsley Rants of Grace Christian Academy; Second Place: 3rd grader Luciana Naretti of Dante B. Fascell Elementary and 5th grader Kimani Griffin of Phyllis Ruth Miller; Third Place: Kindergartner Kyle Behar of Lehrman Community Day School and 5th grader Keith Hagood of Greynolds Park Elementary.

Broward County winners will be awarded on June 27 at the Broward Center (fact check) and include: First Place: 1st grader Alexa Bieber of Manatee Bay Elementary and 1st grader Nicole Svensson of Manatee Bay Elementary; Second Place: 1st grader Jason Cohen of Manatee Bay Elementary and 5th grader Nastia Gold of Hollywood Central Elementary; Third Place: 1st grader Sasha Gold of Hollywood Central Elementary and 1st grader Corey Steinman of Manatee Bay Elementary.

For additional information on the Summer Shorts Festival and its performances, please visit www.citytheatre.com.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: