Point of View


Volunteer Letter to Editor
June 30, 2009, 3:28 pm
Filed under: Letter to Editor

Dear P.O.V.:

I have been in Miami for a little over a year now and have been mostly focused on my professional development. About 3 months ago, I ran across the Adrienne Arsht Center’s website and decided to become involved as a volunteer. The highlight of my service so far was participating in the auditions for AileyCamp in Miami, which you featured in the last edition of P.O.V.

On June 13, I had the incredible honor of being a part of the interviewing committee to select participants for the first AileyCamp in Miami. Before moving to Miami, I taught Latin dance to several talented children’s groups, but the children that came to this camp were incredible. Some children I interviewed have followed the Alvin Ailey American Dance Theatre since before they could dance. It was almost impossible to choose from so many wonderful children.

Before joining the interviewers’ panel, I thought that the camp would simply be an experience where children could sharpen their dancing abilities, but, that day, I learned what the camp is really about. The camp is really all about personal growth, using dance as a medium to help students prepare for life. Not only do these already talented children get an opportunity to sharpen their dance skills, they also will get an edge on the real world that I believe not enough children receive.

Through opportunities like this, volunteering at the center has given me more than I could possibly ever give to the center. Meeting a myriad of personalities on every visit, growing on a personal level, being exposed to a worldly atmosphere of performing arts, and meeting children whom I am certain will be successful in their careers (even if that career isn’t in performing arts) is just a short part of my experience.

I am eager to continue being a part of such an inspiring organization.

Sincerely,

Luis Ugalde

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

