Point of View


MY P.O.V. – Teresa Randolph
October 16, 2009, 2:02 am
Filed under: My POV

October 2009 marks the 10th Anniversary for Adrienne Arsht Center Controller, Teresa Randolph. A Miami native, Randolph started her career with the Arsht Center during times of great promise and compromise. Then known as the Miami Performing Arts Center, Randolph has seen many changes.

Teresa

“I am enormously proud of what the Center has become and the promise of what it brings to the future of my hometown. When I heard about the project years ago, I worked for Knight Ridder and I longed to be a part of it; now I see how rewarding that choice has been. Ten years have gone by quickly and the ride has had its challenging times—delayed plans to open, leadership changes that took the organization in different directions, financial hardships that made us question whether we could make the next payroll. Through all of the challenges, the promise and integrity of the mission kept us motivated and loyal.

Over time, the project took on a heart and soul of its own. The buildings became more than just structure as there were children to teach, smiles to earn, brands to build, thunderclaps of applause to hear, jobs to perform, lives to be lived—all through music, dance; all through art.

The Center is so much a part of my life that my two high school children regularly volunteer and attend performances and events. My favorite programs are opera, gospel, jazz and the Broadway shows. One of my fondest memories is when my children and I attended the Tuning of the House event in 2006, with the Cleveland Orchestra as the first orchestra to play before an audience in the new John S. and James L. Knight Concert Hall. It was a magical moment because it became clear that we had created a true work of art.

My role at the Center, overseer of the financial data, has given my career purpose and meaning as the Adrienne Arsht Center continues its vital role in our community. Providing the staff, Boards of Directors and the general public with an accurate look at our financial status continues to be a privilege and an honor.

I look forward to the time when people are strolling down our side streets, each day, every day, and living with the Center as an essential part of their lives, as it has been in mine. We are here; we are doing it; bring on the next 10+!”

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Good for you and us, Keep up the great work.

Comment by audrey




Leave a Reply

