Point of View


My P.O.V. : My Life, My Family in the Arts
December 13, 2009, 8:38 pm
Filed under: My POV

This may not be the first time, but it is certainly one I will never forget. I am the only one in my family who’s not on stage in Florida Grand Opera’s I Pagliacci and Suor Angelica (or “The Clowns” and “Sister Angelica”), the two short operas performed back-to-back on the same program. My wife, Veronica, plays the Mistress of the novices in Suor Angelica. Our son Paul is the props guy in the play-within-the-play sequence of I Pagliacci. Finally, our eight year-old son Lucas plays Suor Angelica’s little boy at the end of the opera. The Adrienne Arsht Center has been the catalyst of our family’s cultural involvement in more ways than one; now, not only does it gather us for work but also for family times, kids’ activities, as a meeting point with friends and even as a source of new friends. Too many people have no idea how rewarding and how accessible these family experiences can be, and I would really recommend that everyone get involved in any or many of the varied cultural activities that revolve around the Center. Volunteering is a great way to start and it allows people to educate themselves on the multiple opportunities available as well as in the inner workings of the productions, which in itself I find fascinating. Our city hasn’t always been associated with the arts; it’s a new day in Miami!

 

Kelly Kaduce & Lucas Menvielle in FGO's Suor Angelica. Photo by Gaston De Cardenas

 

 Gabe Menvielle

Development Database Manager
The Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts of Miami-Dade County

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

