Point of View


My POV: A Guilty One
May 24, 2010, 2:37 am
Filed under: Broadway Across America

As a musical-theater obsessed teen in Miami, I remember sitting in my friend’s car in December of 2006 singing the songs that later became part of my life. A trip to New York in the spring of 2007 followed my curiosity for this show. As an 8th grader I had never seen anything so electrifying on stage in my life. When I heard Spring Awakening was coming to Miami, I knew I wanted to be part of the experience. “The Guilty Ones” (G.O.) -as they called themselves—are a group of Spring Awakening fanatics in every city that helps promote the Tony Award-winning show. I went to the first meeting not really knowing what it was all about. I made an impression on Crystal Chancellor (Promotions Manager) when I showed my enthusiasm for the project. Telling Miami about this great show was a lot harder than I thought, but the one group  that I knew would connect with this show was of my peers and my fellow teenagers.

Raising points to get a lot of “junk” was not my intention of being a G.O. Bringing an audience to that theater was my main goal. As I became a top Guilty One, Crystal asked me to come in a couple of times a week to help with the project. I was so excited to begin working at the Adrienne Arsht Center, even if it was for 3 hours a week. Leaving school at 3:45 and running to the metro mover and again to the theater was a mission I embarked on everyday to bring this show to as many people as I could. Making phone calls, emails, letters, and collecting fellow Guilty One’s points was part of the challenge.

 

(L-R) Victor Legra with one of the cast members of Spring Awakening.

May 11th was coming very close and I could not wait to see the show live again. Hearing the music again brought me comfort knowing that this show lives on as clean and crisp as the first time I saw it, with a fresh new exciting cast. 

The best experience I have had with this show was sitting ON STAGE. The energy on stage becomes an organized chaos. The cast runs all around you and includes you as part of their show. The set was designed to look like some sort of church yard or class room. The bleachers on each side of the stage creates  the fantasy that the audience is part of the class room. A few ensemble members dressed as regular audience members sing the songs on the bleachers giving us the illusion that a teenager is relating to the piece: a very clever design telling the audience that the piece is timeless and will always be related to true life. During intermission of the show I met the Tony Award -winning director, (Michael Mayer) who brought us Spring Awakening. It was an honor to speak to him about his success with the show, his work, and his new shows (Green Day’s Tony Nominated American Idiot & Sherie Rene Scott’s Tony-nominated Everyday Rapture)

Opening Night was another experience of its own. After the show I was invited with a few of my friends to the opening night cast party. The night started off slow with guests arriving to the party. Once the cast and crew came in, the party began. With a few of us singing karaoke and dancing to Beyoncé’s “Single Ladies”, the night was a success. I had a blast with the cast during this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.

Working as a Guilty One has been a thrill and a pleasure. Everyone at the Adrienne Arsht Center has been very supportive with my work and I hope to work with everyone very soon.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

