Point of View


2009 AILEY CAMPER RETURN THIS SUMMER AS VOLUNTEER
July 6, 2010, 8:42 pm
Filed under: AileyCamp, My POV

Hi, my name is Debhorha Guerra,  I’m 15 years old, and I was part of the inaugural year of AileyCamp Miami 2009. I had an awesome experience at AileyCamp. The personal development classes helped me increase my self-esteem; they helped me understand many of the changes I was going through as a teenager.  The creative communication classes were extremely helpful; these classes helped me to communicate better and in many creative ways.  All the dance classes helped me gain strength and confidence while at the same time helped me to let go of all the stress and pressure I was going through as an average teenager.  The teachers at the Camp were always enthusiastic and ready to help whenever needed.  Even the Camp’s field trips enhanced the overall experience, and created bonds between the campers in a fun atmosphere.  AileyCamp Miami exceeded all my expectations.  It provided a great combination of education, new experiences, friendships and excitement.

After such a fantastic experience I was saddened by the fact that I was not going to be able to return to AileyCamp this summer because of the age limit. The program had such a profound impact on me that I was determined to be involved this year in any way possible. Already a volunteer at the Adrienne Arsht Center, I was pleased to find out that I could volunteer for AileyCamp Miami 2010 as well.  This gives me the opportunity to have the same impact on others as I received while being a Camp member.  

As a volunteer this year, I have gained a completely new perspective on the Camp.  I saw how hard staff and administration work to make the Camp flow easily for the campers.  I also realized how much they are informed on teenage behavior in order to enhance the campers’s experience.  Also as a volunteer, I see the amazing growth of the campers, and I find it astounding to think that that was me just one year ago. 

It has been a rewarding experience so far as a volunteer.  I look forward to the upcoming weeks.  It was marvelous to be a camper and it is proving just as marvelous to be a volunteer.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

