Point of View


MY POV: ACTOR SIPIWE MOYO GIVES US AN INSIDER’S LOOK INTO “MIAMI MADE”

I very recently moved to South Florida, and I wanted to find opportunities here that would allow me to continue the acting career that I trained for at NYU’s Tisch School of the Arts’ Experimental Theatre Wing and continued to pursue in New York City. As a professional actor, I’ve worked off-Broadway and regionally. My search quickly led me to the Adrienne Arsht Center. I saw this eclectic, sophisticated, and multi-faceted arts center as a treasure and wanted to be a part of it. I now work in the box office as a Customer Service Representative.

Before I moved to South Florida, I had been in Birmingham, Alabama working as a project manager in a business consulting firm and then started my own Holistic Health Coaching Practice. When I saw the call for proposals for “Miami Made” [the Center’s commissioning and performance initiative of new work by South Florida artists], I knew that it was time to put to paper a performance idea that I’ve had in mind for a while. “My Friend Nina” is a journey through the accounts of five different characters: Helen, Dee, Lottie, Buck, and Delia. They vary in their experiences– a lovesick 15 year-old girl, a hard-working African-American man, a Civil Rights Freedom Fighter, a young Casanova, and a demure French socialite. The tie that binds all these characters is the influence that Nina Simone’s music has had on them finding their own voices and truths through her music and message.

The reading went off without a hitch, thanks to the support of my fantastic narrator, Marcell Black, and the excellent technical team. Being a newcomer to the area, it was my absolute pleasure to see every seat in the Peacock Foundation Studio filled. The Adrienne Arsht Center community of theater-goers proves to be just as supportive as the Center itself. Throughout the process, I was met with an enormous amount of support from the Adrienne Arsht Center team, especially [programming director] Hollie Altman, and am very excited to say that I now feel a part of the Miami Arts Community. As an emerging artist, there’s nothing more heartening than a superlative arts institution saying, “We believe in your work and are excited to see what you will produce.” This kind of support and encouragement is something that I continue to experience now as an employee in the Adrienne Arsht Center’s Box Office.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Congratulations! This is much better than I could have ever imagined, and I had very high expectations. I am very happy for you and I hope to see more soon.

With love,

Armond

Comment by Armond M

I was moved by the performance and particularly the song. I found myself singing with the actress as I felt her emotion come through as she sang. I found myself singing along. I have always found the messages in Nina’s music to be heavy, but cleansing. It’s as if she alone has taken our collective thoughts and given them voice. While watching the performance, I felt that the actress accuratley portrayed Nina’s gift of speaking to and impacting varied groups of people. Bravo!

Comment by Koliwe

Its good to see another brother from Southern Africa doing his own thing in the Art arena, and doing it so eloquently. Godspeed.

Comment by Nyathi




Leave a Reply

